The Illinois Center for Autism believes each individual is unique and defined by possibilities and not limitations. Individuals have the right to education, training and/or services specifically designed to meet his/her needs in the least restrictive environment.

  • Illinois Governor’s Award

  • Community Services Award from AFL-CIO

Slide thumbnail


Over the course of more than four decades the Illinois Center for Autism has broken down barriers of perception of what those with autism spectrum disorder are capable of. We have paved the pathways for other organizations to provide similar possibilities and have been instrumental in developing legislation for equal opportunities; while supporting and successfully applying the original groundwork for employment for those with some of the most challenging behaviors and disabilities. Placing our students, clients and their families always at the center of every decision and direction, we commit to continue to chart new courses, engage new ideals and technologies, always pushing forward with a renewed promise of insuring all we serve are obtaining their highest level of independence and joy.

Innovative, research-based methods and practices

An interactive and engaging atmosphere

Advocacy and choice to promote self-sufficiency and lifelong independence

A positive approach to maladaptive behaviors

Customized support and training offered to individuals, families, and the community

Services provided by qualified staff who receive ongoing, specialized training


  • Chris Fournie – Chairperson
  • Elijah Gerson – Vice Chairperson
  • Donna Mann (parent)Secretary

  • Kyle Prewitt – Treasurer
  • Kathy Hatton
  • Joy Rick
  • Kristin McMahon

  • J.D. Brandmeyer

  • Marion Behrman

  • Michael Needles

  • Oluwatosin Fasoranti

  • Duston Bahorich

  • Marilyn Wiest

  • Lindy Murray
  • Skye Andre

Troy Metheney
Troy MetheneyExecutive Director


  • Southern Illinois University – Carbondale

  • United Way of Greater St. Louis

  • SW. Il. Division of UW. Greater St. Louis

  • Tri-Cities Area Division of United Way

  • Oddfellows Grand Encampment, IOOF

  • Clinton County Mental Health Board

  • Madison County Mental Health Board

  • St. Clair County Mental Health Board

  • Junior Service of St. Clair County

  • Glen Carbon/Edwardsville Junior Services

  • Various Knights of Columbus in Southern IL

  • Carrollton Bank

  • Scott Credit Union

  • Granite City Optimist Club

  • Granite City Elks

  • Fairview Heights Elks

  • Terron Armstead Foundation

  • Women4Given

  • Women of the Moose

  • Chambers of Commerce

  • Rotary